居家之乐
Daniel Hopwood | Architecture and Interior Design, London

Studio Hopwood
:

Contact


Follow

Site Credits
Made by Six

British Institute of Interior Design Member
居家之乐 Marylebone, London

居家之乐

Marylebone, London
Residential
Minotti Sofa - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bert Frank Light - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Before
After
Before
After
Studio WM light - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Backlit shelves - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Marble kitchen - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dark interiors - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Spencer bed - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bronze mirror wardrobe - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Made.com rug - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dressing room - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Ochre handles - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Marylebone bathroom - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dornbracht supernova - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bathroom - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
barber osgerby mutina - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
  • :
  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
  • :
 
丹尼尔·霍普伍德终于能在自己的新家好好放松放松了。
落地窗前的餐桌旁环绕着软垫椅子,打造了一种近似于旧式冬季花园的感觉。天花板上悬挂着的蓝色钢板,映射出窗外的景象。餐桌的正中间还有一件金边装饰物,让光线打到桌上,又不会妨碍你看风景
电视墙由灰色橡木制成,金属青铜色的嵌入。墙体为深色使其与电视屏幕浑然一体。
客厅和起居室之间安装玻璃滑动门,烹饪时可关闭,打开又能看到悬臂式吧台。
Elitis手工纸被用来装饰Minotti沙发后面的纹理墙,我们有意用超大的尺寸来打造出一个休息空间,好让人感觉房间比实际上更大
从厨房里看到的起居室。
电视墙上凿出的薄黄铜背光架可用以展示型小的珍贵物件。
客厅和厨房的饰面板相辉映使得两个房间更为协调。
暗色的门厅与亮色的房间形成反差,抛光地板上光影跳跃。墙壁被刷成暗色来遮掩稍显笨拙的横梁,同时也让整个房间显得更宽敞。
床头板的作用十分重要,我们通过带图案的镀金玻璃层和厚重的天鹅绒面板来渲染这一效果。
镶嵌着青铜色玻璃的宽衣柜和鞋柜看起来会更神秘。
这里展示的是从卧室看向浴室,日本洗丝镶边的壁龛里呈现出19世纪的威尼斯柜橱。
次卧被改造成了更衣室,左边是贴着壁纸的门,右边是有大量Vitsoe书架的图书馆。
门把手由Ochre长角制成。
为了使卧室和洗手间融为一体,我们使用镶嵌着喷砂芦苇玻璃的折叠门。
我使用的是我最喜欢的Dornbracht水龙头系列,淡金色。
我们没有使用聚光灯,而是在天花板和墙壁的瓷砖上安嵌LED光束带。
淋浴室里铺着一组为Mutina 设计的Barber Osgerby瓷砖。浴室门上镶嵌着青铜色玻璃。

居家之乐

Designers Statement

 

我爱伦敦,一向如此。那里充满活力,激动人心。年轻的时候,我梦想能在那里生活,我希望有一天我能身临其境,感受周遭发生的一切。尽管这样的梦想都需要时间来实现,尤其是考虑到那里的住房如此昂贵,不过最终我还是来了,我在马里波恩(Marylebone)找到了一处公寓。这里适宜居住,有着体面的高街,离摄政公园也近(Regent’s Park),更棒的是走几步路就能到达西区(the West End)——伦敦的各大剧院齐聚于此。我的公寓在一栋联排别墅的顶层,这栋别墅于战后重建,从这儿看出去景色非常壮观,能看到18世纪的圣马里波恩教堂(Church of St. Marylebone)。当年的我可以说是在富人区买了一套最便宜的公寓。

一晃十年过去了。当年我之所以能负担的起那套公寓是因为它仍旧是1958年的状况——富有魅力但毫无保暖性——淋浴设施仅仅是浴缸水龙头上的一个橡胶装置。这不是很好解决嘛,你们一定会这么想,我为那么多客户设计翻修过房屋,然而生活不是这么简单的。那时我的当务之急是偿还按揭贷款,我没有安装暖气而是冬天多穿一件毛衣,把省下的钱都存进银行。

 

现在我虽然有了装修的钱,但我公寓的测绘一直在办公室的绘图板上搁置着,因为似乎新的项目总是源源不断而且都需要优先处理。每当我看向我的这些平面图,我感觉不到视觉效果,这可是每天我为客户们设计时都能感受得到的啊,我却发现真的很不容易。我明白了在设计过程中我的客户都经历了怎样的纠结,对于设计是否完美忧心忡忡,因为室内装修上一旦出错代价是高昂的。每一个成功的项目都是客户和设计师之间默契协作的成果。一名优秀的设计师能帮助客户发掘自己的风格,而不是把设计师的风格强加给客户,他们擅于倾听,能充分了解客户的生活方式和实际需求。而所有这些都不是你单凭一个人的力量就能做到的。

 

为了解决这个问题,我决定写出一份简要的介绍,描述我希望我的家是什么样子,能给我怎样的感觉,应该如何布置,然后再向我出色的团队伙伴们咨询。

尽管我的公寓周围有很棒的景观,完美的东西走向,但它的天花板很低显得很紧凑。恐怕这就需要较大的改动才能满足我的生活方式,容纳我所有的物品,成为我忙碌生活中温馨的港湾。我想要最好的但不要金碧辉煌的,我想要的是一种智能设计,时尔能显现出活力四射的层面。一个最好的例子就是好像一套定制的西装,低调、层次分明、优雅、注重细节,但是当你检查西服的内层,你会发现一个淘气的稍显花哨的衬里。

 

我希望能充分利用每一平方英寸,于是决定研究一下日本人是如何做到在很小的空间里也能悠然自得。我很喜欢他们会灵活地使用滑动门让每个房间都有多种用途,一开滑动门就能有日常活动的空间,门一关上又能有自己的私人空间。我也很欣赏日式家居的简洁,稍稍几件摆设就能达到很棒的效果;我赞赏他们的文化信念,那就是永远只保留你所爱的和所用的物品。受到这种启发,我发觉我的家具很零散,都是这些年积累下来的,我肯定不是都喜欢,有用处的也没几件,它们只不过就堆砌在那儿了。于是我下定决心扔掉了大多数的家具,因为这是我的一次机会,让我能从新开始,找到那些我真正喜欢的能用得上的家具。

考虑到我在家的时候大多是在晚上,我会更倾向于营造一种暗色调的温馨氛围,类似于现代绅士俱乐部的感觉。我使用了橡木灰或闪亮或白色的表面把光线直接引到公寓的中心,使房子不会给人阴沉感。我并不想把自己的家做成一个展示房,我渴望的感觉是友好、活泼并有一定历史的沉淀。于是我通过对比来达到这种效果:深色和浅色、光滑的和粗糙的、新旧家具的插放,例如我把一个19世纪的威尼斯Bombé柜橱放在了特殊设计的壁龛里。

我花了很长时间才实现了自己的梦想,在伦敦市最美丽的地方有一套属于自己的可心的公寓,幸运的是我美梦成真了。我真心的希望这会是一个有用的案例,让人们看到紧凑忙碌的城市生活也可以是宜人的、富有个性的,尤其是在一名室内设计师的帮助下!

Pictured

Home Bird
Daniel Hopwood | Architecture and Interior Design, London

Studio Hopwood
Great Western Studios
Alfred Road
London
W2 5EU :

Contact
+44 (0) 20 3176 6674
studio@danielhopwood.com
pr@danielhopwood.com

Follow

Site Credits
Made by Six

British Institute of Interior Design Member
Home Bird Marylebone, London

Home Bird

Marylebone, London
Residential
Minotti Sofa - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bert Frank Light - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Before
After
Before
After
Studio WM light - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Backlit shelves - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Marble kitchen - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dark interiors - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Spencer bed - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bronze mirror wardrobe - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Made.com rug - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dressing room - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Ochre handles - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Marylebone bathroom - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Dornbracht supernova - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
Bathroom - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
barber osgerby mutina - Daniel Hopwood home design - interior design London
  • :
  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19
  • :
 
At last Daniel Hopwood gets the chance to relax in his new home.
By adding a banquette in the bay window around a dining table has created what is almost an old fashioned winter garden. The ceiling has a suspended blue steel panel which reflect the panorama outside. There is an gold lined centerpiece which glows light on to the table without obscuring the view.
The TV panel is made of grey stained oak with metal bronze inserts. The panel being dark conceals the screen.
Glass sliding doors between sitting room and living room can be close when cooking or left opened to reveal the cantilevered bar.
Hand made paper by Elitis has been used to create the textured wall in front is a Minotti sofa deliberately overscale to create a lounging space and make the room feel bigger.
A view from the kitchen to the living room.
Thin brass backlit shelves have been carved out of the TV panel to display small valued items.
By matching the finishes in both sitting room and kitchen both rooms will be more coordinated
The dark hallway creates the contrast to the lighter rooms beyond with light bouncing from the polished floor.The walls have been paint dark to hide awkward beams and make the room feel bigger.
A bed headboard should be a real event here achieved through the layer of pattern gilded glass and a punchy, velvet panel.
Extensive wardrobes and shoe storage looks more discreet by being paneled in bronze tinted glass.
It is a view from the bedroom towards the bathroom with an alcove lined in Japanese washed silk and featuring a nineteenth century Venetian commode.
The second bedroom has been turned into a dressing room with wallpaper covered doors on the left and a library with extensive Vitsoe shelving on the right.
Door handles are made of horn from Ochre.
To make the bathroom more integrated with the bathroom suite the door is concertinered and panelled in sand blasted reeded glass.
I have used my favourite tap range Dornbracht finished in pale gold.
Rather than using spot lights LED tape has been integrated between the tiles over the ceiling and back down the wall.
A panel of tiles by Barber Osgerby for Mutina have been placed in the shower. The shower door is tinted bronze glass.

Home Bird

Designers Statement

I love London, I always have. A city that fizzes with life, an exciting place to be. When I was young I dreamt of living there and I hoped one day to be right in the middle, where it is all happening. Although such dreams do take a while to achieve, especially as property is exceptionally expensive. I eventually arrived. I found a flat in Marylebone. A quarter that is liveable because of the decent high street and proximity to Regent’s Park, and yet is only a short walk away to the West End — the home of London’s theatres. The flat is on the top floor of a town house that was rebuilt after war, the views are spectacular including the 18th century Church of St. Marylebone. I bought the cheapest flat on an expensive street.

 

That was ten years ago. The flat was affordable as it was still in its 1958 state — charming yet freezing — and the shower was a rubber contraption pushed over the bath taps. Easily solved you’d think with my experience of designing and refurbishing homes for clients, but life is not that simple. I first had to break the back of an expensive mortgage, instead of heating I wore an extra sweater in the winter and put some money in the bank instead.

 

The renovation money was in the bank but the measured survey of my apartment still sat on the drawing board in the office untouched, as there was always another project landing in the office that required immediate attention. Each time I glanced at the plans, I just couldn’t see the vision, something I do everyday for others but for myself, I didn’t find it so easy. I know what my clients must go through during the design process, concerned about getting the designs right, as mistakes can be expensive when it comes to interior design. A successful project is the result of a collaboration between client and designer. A good designer will help a client discover their own sense of style rather than imposing their own and spend time listening, in order to understand their lifestyle and practical needs. You just can’t do this sort of stuff on your own.

 

To solve the problem I decided to create a brief covering how I wanted my to home to look and feel and how it should be laid out and consult with the fabulous team that I work with.

 

Although the flat has great views and has the perfect east/west aspect, it is quite compact with low ceilings. It would have to work hard to accommodate my lifestyle and belongings and be a haven from a busy life. I wanted the best but didn’t want bling, just intelligent design with just the occasional moment of exuberance. The nearest comparison could be a bespoke suit. Understated, structured, elegant, great details but then checking the inside of the jacket and find hiding there is a rather naughty, slightly lurid lining.

 

Wanting to take advantage of every square inch I decided to take a look at how the Japanese manage to live well in small spaces. I liked how they can make each room multipurpose by using  sliding doors that can be opened to create open plan living or closed to create an intimate space. I also admire the simplicity in Japanese homes with the use of just a few materials to great effect and their ethos of only keeping what is loved and useful. In that light I felt my furniture was collection of odd pieces that I had accumulated over the years, I certainly didn’t love it all and little of it was necessary, it just sort of existed. I decided to let most of it go, here was my chance to start afresh and find pieces that worked for me and look considered.

 

As I spend most of time there in the evenings I preferred to have a dark, warm atmosphere, a sort of modern gentleman’s club style. I achieved this with the use of oak stained in grey offset with either shiny or white surfaces that pulled light right into the heart of the flat so that the space didn’t look gloomy. I didn’t want a show flat, I desired a home — friendly, lively and with a certain level of provenance. I did this by playing with contrasts, light and dark, rough and smooth, placing old against new such as installing a 19th century Venetian Bombé commode in a specially designed niche.

 

It has taken a while to achieve my dream, living in a beautiful part of London in a lovely apartment but here it is. I do hope it is a useful case study on how compact urban living can be pleasurable and individualist too, especially if you commission an interior designer!

 

 

Pictured